Global groups are groups that are built into LabKey Server and thus available when configuring permissions for every project. The global groups can be accessed by site admins via (Admin) > Site > Site Groups.

The Site Administrators Group

The Site Administrators group includes all users who have been added as global administrators. Site administrators have access to every resource on the LabKey site, with a few limited special use exceptions. Only users who require these global administrative privileges should be added to the Site Administrators group. A project administrator requires a similarly high level of administrative access, but only to a particular project, and should be part of the Site Users group, described below and then added to the administrators group at the project level only.

All LabKey security begins with the first site administrator, the person who installs and configures LabKey Server, and can add others to the Site Administrators group. Any site admin can also add new site users and add those users to groups. See Site Administrator for more information on the role of the site admin.

The Site Administrators group is implicit in all security settings. There's no option to grant or revoke folder permissions to this group under (Admin) > Folder > Permissions.

Developers Group

The Developers group is a site-level security group intended to include users who should be granted the ability to create server-side scripts and code. Membership in the Developers group itself does not confer any permission or access to resources. By default, the Developer group is granted the Platform Developer which does confer these abilities.

An administrator can revoke the Platform Developer role from this group if desired, in which case the Developers group exists purely as a convenience for assigning other roles throughout the site.

Membership in the Developers site group is managed on the page (Admin) > Site > Site Developers. The same interface is used as for project groups. Learn more about adding and removing users from groups in this topic: Manage Group Membership

Note that you cannot impersonate the Developers group or the Platform Developers role directly. As a workaround, impersonate an individual user who has been added to the Developers group or granted the Platform Developer role respectively.

The Site Users Group

The site-level Users group consists of all users who are logged onto the LabKey system, but are not site admins. You don't need to do anything special to add users to the Site Users group; any users with accounts on your LabKey Server will be part of the Site Users group.

The Site Users group is global, meaning that this group automatically has configurable permissions on every resource on the LabKey site.

The purpose of the Site Users group is to provide a way to grant broad access to a specific resource within a project without having to open permissions for an entire project. Most LabKey users will work in one or a few projects on the site, but not in every project.

For instance, you might want to grant Reader permissions to the Site Users group for a specific subfolder containing public documents (procedures, office hours, emergency contacts) in a project otherwise only visible to a select team. The select team members are all still members of the site users group, meaning the resource will be visible to all users regardless of other permissions or roles.

The Guests/Anonymous Group

Anonymous users, or guests, are any users who access your LabKey site without logging in. The Guests group is a global group whose permissions can be configured for every project and folder. It may be that you want anonymous users to be able to view wiki pages and post questions to a message board, but not to be able to view MS2 data. Or you may want anonymous users to have no permissions whatsoever on your LabKey site. An important part of securing your LabKey site or project is to consider what privileges, if any, guests should have.

Permissions for guests can range from no permissions at all, to read permissions for viewing data, to write permissions for both viewing and contributing data. Guests can never have administrative privileges on a project.

Related Topics

Discussion

Was this content helpful?

Log in or register an account to provide feedback


previousnext
 
expand all collapse all