Project groups are groups of users defined only for a particular project and the folders beneath it. You can define any number of groups for a project. To define groups or configure permissions, you must have administrative privileges on that project or folder.

Create a Project Group

View current project groups by selecting (Admin) > Folder > Permissions and clicking the Project Groups tab. To create a new group, type the name into the box and click Create New Group.

Manage Group Membership

Add Users to Groups

When you create a new group, or click the name of an existing group in the permissions UI, you will open a popup window for managing group information.

In the popup window, you can use the pulldown to add project or site users to your new group right away, or you can simply click Done to create the empty group. Your new group will be available for granting roles and can be impersonated even before adding actual users.

Later, return to the project group list, click the group name to reopen the group information popup. You can now use the pulldown to add members or other groups to the group. Once you've added users, new options are available.

Remove Users from Groups

To remove a user from a group, open the group by clicking the group name in the permissions UI. In the popup, click Remove for the user to remove.

You can also see a full set of permissions for that user by clicking Permissions for the user, or the set for the group by clicking the Permissions link at the top of the popup.

When finished, click Done.

Add Multiple Users

From the permissions UI, click the name of a group to open the information popup, then click Manage Group in the upper right for even more options including bulk addition and removal of users. You can rename the group using the link at the top, and the full history of this group's membership is also shown at the bottom of this page.

To add multiple users, enter each email on it's own line in the Add New Members panel. As you begin to type, autocompletion will show you defined users and groups. By default email will be sent to the new users. Uncheck the box to not send this email. Include an optional message if desired. Click Update Group Membership.

Remove Multiple Users

To remove multiple users, reopen the same page for managing the group. Notice that group members who are already included in subgroups are highlighted with an asterisk. You can use the Select Redundant Members button to select them all at once.

To remove multiple group members, check their boxes in the Remove column. Then click Update Group Membership.

Delete

To delete a group, you must first remove all the members. Once the group is empty, you will see a Delete Empty Group button on both the manage page and in the information popup.

Default Project Groups

When you create a new project, you can elect whether to start the security configuration from scratch ("My User Only") or clone the configuration from an existing project. Every new project started from scratch includes a default "Users" group. It is empty when a project is first created, and not granted any permissions by default.

It is common to create an "Administrators" group, either at the site or project level. It's helpful to understand that there is no special status confirmed by creating a group of that name. All permissions must be explicitly assigned to groups. A site administrator can configure a project so that no other user has administrative privileges there. What is important is not whether a user is a member of a project's "Administrators" group, but whether any group that they belong to has the administrator role for a particular resource.

Permissions are configured individually for every individual project and folder. Granting a user administrative privileges on one project does not grant them on any other project. Folders may or may not inherit permissions from their parent folder or project.

Related Topics

Discussion

Was this content helpful?

Log in or register an account to provide feedback


previousnext
 
expand all collapse all